Organization Development Assessment

Hi, everyone. I am new to Index Coop (well, I’ve been lurking for a few weeks to learn about Index Coop goals and how you work). I’m a graduate student at American University working on a Masters in Organization Development. @Darkforestcapital has agreed to serve as my sponsor and primary point of contact as I start a practicum or capstone project with this DAO.

I’m really looking forward to working with you!

My current challenge statement:
The Index Coop is poised for rapid growth globally while also striving to maintain a culture of quality, fairness, inclusivity, and respect. The Index Coop seeks to assess the current state “leadership” structure, decision-making protocols, and culture to inform how people and work can be organized for future success.

Note: I expect this statement will be refined as we (not I) uncover bright spots and pain points within Index Coop. I already see heated topics that could be a focus here, for example, autonomy and compensation.

This action research project includes four phases: data gathering and synthesis, feedback, intervention, and evaluation of the agreed-upon intervention. Kicking off today, July 28, it will run approximately seven weeks —through the first week of September. I’ll start joining the Organization weekly meetings and scheduling interviews with some of you in the coming days.

The project is grounded in co-creation, i.e. I intend to be humble and inclusive while helping the Index Coop as a process consultant to uncover the community’s insights and recommendations. I will also document and share a final report.

I want to be transparent with the community. I’ll make discussion guides, feedback, insights, and observations, and recommendations available based on @DFC approval. I don’t pretend to be any kind of DeFi expert but instead, focus on human systems and socio-technical-business relationships.

Please reach out with any questions or interests.

22 Likes