Gather around, it’s time for some Product Working Group Lore… (AKA PWG Season 1 and 2 report)

How to start?

“A long time ago in a galaxy far away…”

Maybe not.

“In the beginning, there was nothing, which exploded…”

Possibly closer…

INTRO

INDEXcoop came into the world with a single product. At the time $DPI had been live on the market for a few weeks and failed to capture much attention as DeFi Summer progressed into Autumn.

The creation of the coop added a few vital reagents to the mix (sorry, I’m still a chemist):

• Ambition to grow
  • INDEX tokens for contributors and Liquidity mining
  • DAO infrastructure - discord, gitbook, website, googledrive, discourse
  • Self-selecting contributors

The result was explosive:

Early product management

In the early days, the community was focused on a few activities:

• Building DPI AUM and market share through Growth and BD activities.
  • Getting organised and growing the Coop.

In terms of Product functions, the community did the majority of the work on:

• Analysis of the products/blogging.
  • Discussions around future products / proposals of products (internal and external).
  • Liquidity mining design (post the initial 60 day campaign baked into the coop launch).

However, the majority of the heavy-lift around product was conducted by Set Labs staff:

• Closed-door negotiations with potential methodologists.
  • Coordination of work team analysis for CGI and ETH2x-FLI.
  • Setting the technical specification for products.
  • Coordination of rebalances.
  • Assessing underlying liquidity for token inclusion / exclusion from sector products
  • Implementing the liquidity mining strategy agreed by INDEX votes.
  • Managing the Set protocol roadmap for new features for future products (Leveraged products, Polygon etc).
  • Go to market activities with GWG and Set labs engineers.